In Praise of Robins

If you ask most people in the British Isles if they like robins they will say ‘yes’ – the very word robin conjures up the iconic picture of a little bird sitting on a garden spade … the gardener’s friend.

But it is the robin’s song that endears these little birds to me. They are one of the few birds that sing all winter long. Often have I leaned out of my window and, in the grey light of an early winter dawn the clear notes of the robin’s song cascade through the darkness, bringing light and hope. It is a song of piercing sweetness and so I tell myself that since these brave little birds sing …. then so can I.

Until next time ….

Feedback welcome!

